Sylvain Granjon’s mythical image of childhood

French artist Sylvain Granjon’s series Douce Amère, feature his daughter.

“When I photograph my daughter, my own flesh and blood, I photograph myself. Her direct look has shaken my certainties. What I see in her eyes challenges me, as an adult, as a father. She seems to be asking me : “What have you become?”
When I portray my daughter there is a seriousness at odds with her young age. I try to evoke the adult’s desperate quest for the mythical image of his or her own childhood; the source of all our emotions.”

Sylvain Granjon

Sylvain Granjon

Sylvain Granjon

Sylvain Granjon

One thought on “Sylvain Granjon’s mythical image of childhood

Leave a Reply

